## SUPERIOR-GREENSTONE DISTRICT SCHOOL BOARD

Report No: 63 Date: September 21, 2009

TO:	Chair and Members of the Superior-Greenstone District School Board
FROM:	Barbara Draper, Coordinator of Human Resource Services
SUBJECT:	Personnel Report – September 21, 2009

*That*, the Superior-Greenstone DSB receives as information Report No. 63: Personnel, dated September 21, 2009.

1

### ADMINISTRATION

#### 1. APPOINTMENTS

Donna Fry is appointed Vice-Principal at Marathon High School effective September 21, 2009.

The appointment of *Don Parsons* to the position of Student Support Leader is extended for an additional one year term at .5 FTE effective September 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010.

#### 2. CHANGES IN ASSIGNMENT

*Anne Lockwood*, Vice-Principal, is transferred from Dorion Public School to Nipigon-Red Rock District High School effective August 31, 2009.

*Diane Malashewski*, Vice-Principal at Marjorie Mills Public School is appointed Principal at Marjorie Mills Public School and Caramat Public School effective August 31, 2009.

*Barb Willcocks*, Vice-Principal at Nipigon-Red Rock Public School is appointed Principal at Dorion Public School and Red Rock Public School effective August 31, 2009.

*Val Newton*, Student Success Coordinator is promoted to the position of Student Success Superintendent effective September 1, 2009

# **II TEACHING STAFF**

### 1. APPOINTMENTS

*Caroline Deschamps* is appointed to the secondary panel teaching staff (.17 FTE) at Marathon High School effective August 31, 2009 and that this appointment is conditional upon the granting of a Letter of Permission from the Ministry of Education.

#### 2. TRANSFERS, CHANGES IN ASSIGNMENTS

The following individuals are appointed Principal's Assistant at their respective elementary school for the 2009-2010 school year:

Leesa Broder & Linda Stansell...Red Rock Public School

*Paul Gallant*, Teacher at Marathon High School is appointed to the position of Program Leader-Social Studies, for the remainder of the 3-year term commencing August 31, 2009 and terminating on August 31, 2010.

*Mark Cavner*, Teacher as Schreiber Public School, is appointed to the position of Math Facilitator for the 2009-2010 school year effective September 15, 2009.

## 3. OTHER

### **Occasional Teaching Assignments**

### <u>Erik Leroux</u>

- Red Rock P.S.
- .5 FTE
- Replacing B. Robbins
- Effective August 31, 2009

### Jennifer Douglas

- Red Rock P.S.
- .5 FTE
- Replacing B. Robbins
- Effective September 16, 2009

## Lay-offs, Staff Reductions, Reassignments

### Elementary Panel – Effective August 31, 2009

- David Binette Teacher at RRPS transferred to Dorion Public School (Home School Recall Rights)
- Leesa Broder Teacher at RRPS lay off rescinded maintains 1.0 FTE at RRPS
- Erik Leroux Recall List recalled to .5 FTE at RRPS

### Secondary Panel-Effective August 31, 2009

- Cheryl Hendricken Teacher at NRHS recall increased from .33 FTE to .5 FTE
- Tim Griffin Teacher at GCHS recalled to .33 FTE
- Caroline Noble Teacher at MNHS- layoff rescinded maintains .5 FTE

# III SUPPORT STAFf

### 1. CHANGES IN ASSIGNMENT

*Wade Gulbrandsen*, Computer Technician, is transferred by mutual consent as per Article 14 of the current OSSTF ESS Collective Agreement from SGDSB Board Office to the Nipigon Area effective August 31, 2009.

*Jeffrey Fullerton*, Computer Technician, is transferred by mutual consent as per Article 14 of the current OSSTF ESS Collective Agreement from the Nipigon Area to the SGDSB Board Office effective August 31, 2009.

### **IV AMALGAMATION**

### 1. Nakina and Caramat

With the amalgamation of the Nakina District School Area Board and the Caramat District School Area Board with Superior-Greenstone District School Board we have acquired the following employees effective September 1, 2009:

# <u>Nakina</u>

- Sandra Ladd Advisory Trustee
- Pauline Taphorn Advisory Trustee
- Terry Swanson Advisory Trustee

- Rhonda Chaine Executive Secretary
- Angela Miller Principal
- Erica Cotton Teacher
- Kathleen Schram-Teacher
- Angie Starret Teacher
- Lee Ann Donovan School Secretary
- Raylene Shallock Educational Assistant
- Sharon Gascon Educational Assistant
- Darlene Pelletier Educational Assistant

# <u>Caramat</u>

- Gloria McCraw Advisory Trustee
- Reg D'Amours Advisory Trustee
- Armand Giguere Advisory Trustee
- Kim McCraw Executive Secretary
- Donna Laatu .1 FTE French Teacher conditional upon Letter of Permission
- Donna Laatu .9 FTE Educational Assistant
- Ingrid Lafortune Educational Assistant

Barbara Draper Coordinator of Human Resource Services Reference: Regular Board Meeting September 21, 2009